The House of Representatives on Tuesday approved a resolution condemning President Trump's "racist comments" directed at four Democratic congresswomen, all women of color. Four Republicans — Reps. Will Hurd of Texas, Fred Upton of Michigan, Brian Fitzpatrick of Pennsylvania, and Susan Brooks of Indiana — and one independent — former Republican Rep. Justin Amash of Michigan — voted with the Democrats to pass the resolution, 240-187. The House floor ground to a halt earlier in the day after House Speaker Nancy Pelosi (D-Calif.) criticized Trump for his "disgraceful" and "racist" tweets. Rep. Doug Collins (R-Ga.) asked for Pelosi's words to be taken down, citing a House rule against calling the president "racist." House Majority Leader Steny Hoyer (D-Md.) affirmed Pelosi's words were "out of order," meaning Pelosi couldn't speak on the floor for the rest of the day. The House voted against striking her words from the record.

Scroll for 5 things you
need to know now