From the wonderful world of sports
January 14, 2020

Louisiana State University defeated Clemson 42-25 in the Superdome on Monday night, earning the team's first national championship since 2007.

LSU came into the game ranked No. 1, while Clemson, last year's winner, was No. 3. Heisman Trophy winner Joe Burrow set a new College Football Playoff National Championship record for passing yards and touchdowns after he finished the game with 463 yards on 31-of-49 passing, five touchdowns, and zero interceptions, CBS Sports reports.

LSU had a phenomenal year, going 15-0 this season. Catherine Garcia

November 14, 2019

Dodgers first baseman and outfielder Cody Bellinger and Angels outfielder Mike Trout on Thursday were named the Most Valuable Players for their leagues.

Bellinger is the 12th Dodger to receive the National League MVP Award, and the first since it went to Clayton Kershaw in 2014. Bellinger, 24, is a two-time All Star, who had 47 home runs in 2019. Over 156 games, he batted .305. He received 19 of the 30 first place votes, and 10 second place votes. "There wasn't one part of his game he didn't dominate," Dodgers manager Dave Roberts said in a statement.

Trout received the American League MVP Award, an honor he has now won three times. Trout, 28, was just 23 when he earned his first league MVP Award, becoming the youngest player in history to be named MVP by a unanimous vote. He received 17 of the 30 first place votes. In 2019, he played in 134 games, ending the season with a career-high 45 home runs and batting .291.

Trout now joins the ranks of Mickey Mantle, Alex Rodriguez, Barry Bonds, Yogi Berra, Roy Campanella, Joe DiMaggio, Jimmie Fox, Stan Musial, Albert Pujols, and Mike Schmidt — the only Major League Baseball players to win three or more MVP awards. Trout is "one of the greatest players that I've ever laid my eyes on, and one of the better people I've also been around inside this game," Angels general manager Billy Eppler told the Los Angeles Times. "Great ambassador, total role model." Catherine Garcia

October 11, 2019

The Washington Mystics defeated the Connecticut Sun 89-78 on Thursday night, earning the team's first WNBA championship in franchise history.

It all came down to Game 5, with Emma Meesseman of the Mystics ending the night with 22 points; she was also named Finals MVP. For the Sun, Jonquel Jones finished with 25 points and nine rebounds. The Mystics have been in the league since 1998, and it wasn't until 2017 that they made it to the playoffs. During their first-ever appearance in the Finals last season, the Mystics lost to the Seattle Storm. Catherine Garcia

September 11, 2019

With their 7-3 win Tuesday night over the Baltimore Orioles, the Los Angeles Dodgers clinched their seventh straight National League West title.

They earned the pennant at Camden Yards, becoming the first team to secure a spot in the playoffs. Corey Seager had two home runs for the Dodgers, while Gavin Lux has his first career homer. Over seven innings, pitcher Walker Buehler had no walks and only four hits, striking out 11.

The Dodgers are aiming to win their first World Series title since 1988; they lost to the Houston Astros in 2017 and the Boston Red Sox in 2018. Game 1 of the National League Division Series is set for Oct. 3 at Dodger Stadium. Catherine Garcia

July 28, 2019

Egan Bernal, 22, won the Tour de France on Sunday, becoming the first Colombian — and South American — to do so.

Bernal, who is also the youngest champion since World War II, is from Zipaquira, a city in central Colombia. Hundreds of residents gathered together in a plaza to watch the final stage on a giant screen, and thousands more tuned in across the country. "I am the most happy guy in the world," Bernal said from the winner's podium. "I just won the Tour de France and yeah, I can't believe it."

Organizers said that this year, just 1 minute, 31 seconds separated first and third places. The Tour de France started July 6 and covered 2,092 miles. Catherine Garcia

June 10, 2019

The Boston Bruins defeated the St. Louis Blues 5-1 Sunday during Game 6 of the Stanley Cup Final.

The series is now tied 3-3, with the deciding Game 7 set for Wednesday in Boston. One of the Bruins' goals came courtesy of Karson Kuhlman, appearing in his first-ever Stanley Cup Final. The Blues' only goal was made by Ryan O'Reilly, his seventh of the series.

There hasn't been a Game 7 in the series since 2011. Catherine Garcia

June 3, 2019

With the first pick in the 2019 Major League Baseball draft, the Baltimore Orioles on Monday night selected catcher Adley Rutschman.

The 21-year-old from Sherwood, Oregon, played for Oregon State, and was named this season's Pac-12 player of the year. In 2018, Oregon State won its third College World Series title, with Rutschman named the most outstanding player of the tournament. This season, Rutschman had 17 home runs in 56 games. Catherine Garcia

May 15, 2019

Toronto Blue Jays right-hander Edwin Jackson made the record books on Wednesday, becoming the first person in Major League Baseball history to play for 14 different teams.

The Blue Jays faced the San Francisco Giants, one of the few teams Jackson hasn't played for — the 35-year-old has pitched for the Los Angeles Dodgers, Detroit Tigers, Tampa Bay Rays, Chicago White Sox, Oakland Athletics, Baltimore Orioles, St. Louis Cardinals, Arizona Diamondbacks, Washington Nationals, Chicago Cubs, Atlanta Braves, Miami Marlins, and San Diego Padres.

When Jackson joined the Athletics last season, he tied the record previously held by Octavio Dotel, USA Today reports. He started his MLB career pitching for the Dodgers on Sept. 9, 2003 — his 20th birthday. Catherine Garcia

See More Speed Reads